What to watch in 2014:

What to watch in 2014:   PETTIT v. THORN:  The elephant in the room for 2014, (which means no one can ignore it) is the much anticipated battle between the 2012 series champions of the Byron Campbell owned #43 team with driver Derek Thorn, and the 2013 series champions of the [...]

Tentative Roster for Madera Speedway as of March 11, 2014

SPEARS Southwest Tour Series Tentative Roster for Madera Speedway as of March 11, 2014             01          Todd Souza, Aromas, CA – Rockwell Watches, BP Racing 12          Colby Potts, Stockton, CA – Nascimiento Motorsports 16          Jacob Gomes, Manteca, CA – Sunnyvalley Smoked Meats, Inc., Dennis Arbini 18          Jim Pettit II, Prunedale, CA – Moeller [...]


FOR RELEASE - March 11, 2014 Jim Pettit Racing       PETTIT and BAMMER PREPARE TO DEFEND TITLE Prunedale, CA – Three-time SPEARS Southwest Tour Series champion Jim Pettit II and his Quentin Bammer owned team is preparing to defend their 2013 championship title.  2012 was the first year that Pettit and Bammer had [...]

NTS Motorsports Signs Garret Archer for SRL in 2014 (photo: Archer at Evergreen Speedway in 2013)

KERNERSVILLE, NC (March 11th, 2014) NTS Motorsports announced the addition of 17 year-old Garret Archer to their driver lineup for 2014.  Archer will compete for the SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Rookie-of-the-Year title in 2014.   This weekend Archer will make his debut in the NTS Motorsports #21 alongside his NTS Motorsports [...]

Newhouse Preps for SRL Season Opener

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Newhouse Preps for SRL Season Opener   As the Spear’s SRL Southwest Tour series kicks off the season with the first race of the year at Madera Speedway, 17 year old Rookie Hannah Newhouse anxiously awaits her change to hit the track for the first time. Not only has [...]


  Manteca, CA – Ross Strmiska, the third generation driver from Manteca, CA and his Mainline Equipment/ Jack Tone Vineyards team are set for the upcoming SPEARS Southwest Tour Series season.  With the season opener at Madera Speedway less than week away, Strmiska is ready and confident heading to the [...]

2 DAYS UNTIL THE 2014 SEASON OPENER at MADERA SPEEDWAY (see schedule of events)

FRIDAY, MARCH 14TH, 2014 MADERA SPEEDWAY - PRACTICE DAY 12 NOON PIT GATES - SPEARS Southwest Tour Series 1:30pm PIT GATES – ALL DIVISIONS   1:00 PM         SPEARS Southwest Tour Series Tech Inspection will begin   3:30 PM         SPEARS Southwest Tour Series – Driver/Crew Chief Meeting   4:00 – 4:30     PRACTICE - SRL S-2, Legends [...]


Bakersfield, CA – The 2014 SPEARS Southwest Tour Series Rookie-of-the-Year class will once again battle for the coveted title and the big prize that accompanies the title.   “It’s always a great battle for the Rookie-of-the-Year title, and this year we return with a big award’s package worthy of the efforts [...]

Pete Holko Perseverance Award Recipiant

Scott Sanchez was the first recipient of the "Pete Holko Perseverance Award" presented by SRL Chief Steward, Jim Cook at the 2013 Championship Awards Banquet on February 8th.  The award is presented in the name of long-time SRL official Pete Holko, who we lost to cancer in 2013.


The top five of the 2013 SPEARS Southwest Tour Series took to the stage at the Championship Awards Banquet for a question and answer session - (L to R), Derek Thorn, Jason Gilbert, Jim Pettit II, Jacob Gomes and Jeremy Doss.


Jim Pettit II picked up his third SPEARS Southwest Tour Championship Cup on Saturday, Pettit was joined on stage by (L-R) Marion Collins, Connie Spears, Wayne Spears, team owner Quentin Bammer and Larry Collins.

NTS Motorsports Announcement

NTS Motorsports announced in December that Southwest Tour Series veteran Greg Voigt would return as the driver of the NTS Motorsports #29 SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Series entry for 2014.   Today, NTS made the following announcement regarding their NASCAR Camping World Truck and K&N East Teams.   KERNERSVILLE, N.C. – NTS Motorsports [...]

Q&A with QB – SPEARS Southwest Tour Series championship car owner Quentin Bammer

  2013  SPEARS  Southwest  Tour  Series  championship  owner,  Quentin  Bammer  fields  the  Moeller  Bros./HUR  Engines  #18  car  with  driver,  Jim  Pettit  II.      1) How  did  you  get  your  start  in  racing?   Started  with  working  as  a  crewmember  for  Top  Fuel  Altered  owned  by  Rick  Guasco  and  driver  Dale [...]

AmeriPride and the SPEARS Southwest Tour Series Continue Longtime Partnership

        Bakersfield, CA – It’s a marketing partnership that spans over 20 years, AmeriPride and the management of the SPEARS Southwest Tour Series have worked together for two decades promoting AmeriPride through motorsports.       “It’s a great relationship,” stated the SRL’s Brian Olsen.  “David Jachetti and everyone we work with at AmeriPride [...]


Dave Byrd and the Bob Strandwold Racing team celebrated their 2007 SRL Championship after the season finale at Altamont Raceway Park. The below press release was from Dave Byrd Media Relations following his 2007 championship. Dave Byrd Media Relations October 15, 2007 TRACY, California -- While the 2007 SRL racing season brought a [...]