LAS VEGAS, Nevada — Jim Pettit II of Prunedale, Calif., and Dylan Kwasniewski of Las Vegas shared the spotlight tonight at Las Vegas Motor Speedway“>The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Pettit won the 121-lap SPEARS Southwest Tour event and Kwasniewski dominated the second half of the 75-lap Lucas Oil Modified feature.

SPEARS SOUTHWEST TOUR: David Ross of Colton, Calif., led the 29-car field to the opening green flag. Jim Pettit, who started second, took command of the race on the first lap. The race was halted on lap 6 for a seven-car crash on the front straightaway. The car of Tracy Bolin landed upside-down in Turn 1. Also involved were Dave ByrdJason GilbertScott Sanchez, Jeremy Doss, Troy Ermish and Keith Spangler. Several cars were eliminated in the crash but no one was injured.

Greg Pursley started in fifth place and took second from Cody Hodgson on lap 10. By lap 20, the Petit II-Pursley duo had a full straightaway lead on Hodgson in third. But it was not Pursley’s night: his car suddenly slowed on lap 26 and he retired to the pits. Meanwhile,Jonathon Gomez now was in second place behind Pettit. At the halfway point, it was Pettit, Gomez, last year’s winner Derek Thorn, Hodgson and Ross.

Thorn fought his way into second place and hounded Pettit over the final 30 laps but could not find the opening he needed and was forced to settle for second place.

LUCAS OIL MODIFIEDS: Forty-two Lucas Oil Modifieds converged on the Bullring for tonight’s 75-lap main event. Thirty-five participated in time trials as seven cars were lost to various problems between Friday night practice and race day. Dylan Kwasniewski of Las Vegas set fast time with a lap of 15.378 sec. The first 20-lap B-Feature was won by Jentry Pisca.Matthew Hicks won the second 20-lap B-Feature. James Mardis won the six-lap dash.

Chris Gerchman took the lead from polesitter Joe Deguevara on the first lap and paced the field through a number of caution periods for the first 40 circuits.

Kwasniewski made his move on Gerchman on lap 41 when he powered to the inside of his opponent in Turn 1 and raced side-by-side with him down the back straightaway. Kwasniewski carved his way through lapped traffic over the final laps of the race, pursued by Gerchman and Mardis. The final caution flag of the race flew on lap 71 when Jessica Clark spun on the front straightaway. The caution placed Gerchman and Mardis right on Kwasniewski’s tail but he simply powered away from his foes on the restart and cruised to victory. Gerchman finished second and Shelby Stroebel grabbed third.

“It’s (hometown victory) great, I’ve been trying to win here in these cars for a long time,” said Kwasniewski.

SRL S2 LATE MODELS: Ryan Cansdale took the lead from Anthony Gianone on lap 21 and went on to win the first 25-lap SRL S2 Late Model feature. Chad Schug finished second and Gianone was third. Cansdale also won the second 25-lap SRL S2 Late Model feature, with Trevor Huddleston second.

USLCI LEGEND CARS: Noah Gragson won the hotly-contested 20-lap Legend Cars Semi-Pro/Young Lions feature. Chris Trickle held off Peyton Saxton for second. The win was Gragson’s first victory in a Legend Car.Jason Irwin won the 25-lap Legend Cars Pro/Master feature. J. Avila Jr. finished second and Justin Irwin was third.

IAPMO SILVER STAR PLUMBING PHCC BANDOLEROS: Caden Carlin won the 12-lap IAPMO Silver Star Plumbing PHCC feature ahead of Kailey Boersma and Phillip Root. Ryan Vargas and Dezel West completed the top five.

USLCI THUNDER CARS: Ian Anderson remains undefeated in the Thunder Car division. Tonight marked his fifth consecutive win of 2013. Jacob Tilton finished second and Nick D’Egidio was third.

NEXT RACE: Saturday, May 18 – NASCAR Super Late Modelks, NASCAR Super Stocks, NASCAR Bombers, USAC Ignite Midgets, Bandoleros, Legend Cars and Thunder Cars. Spectator gates will open at 5 p.m. (Schedule:

121-lap SPEARS Southwest Tour feature (BLACKJACK 121): 1. Jim Pettit II, 2. Derek Thorn.

75-lap Lucas Oil Modified feature: 1. Dylan Kwasniewski, 2. Chris Gerchman, 3. Shelby Stroebel, 4. Jim Mardis, 5. Roger Brown, 6. Chase Catania, 7. Joe Deguevara, 8. David Crouch, 9. Tim Morse, 10. Doug Carpenter, 11. Aaron McMorran, 12. Vanessa Robinson, 13. Jessica Clark, 14. Devin Lahorgue, 15. Scott Osborne, 16. Larry Gerchman, 17. Chris Cook, 18. Keaton Swane, 19. Nik Romano, 20. Doug Hamm, 21. Jentry Pisca, 22. Matthew Hicks, 23. Jason Patison, 24. Elliott Stjerne.

First 25-lap SRL S2 Late Model feature: 1. Ryan Cansdale, 2. Chad Schug, 3. Anthony Gianone, 4. Kenny Smith, 5. Cody Ware, 6. Trevor Huddleston, 7. Daryl Scoggins, 8. Bill Waters, 9. Chris Morrison.

Second 25-lap SRL S2 Late Model feature: 1. Ryan Cansdale, 2. Trevor Huddleston.

12-lap IAPMO Bandolero PHCC combined Outlaw/Bandit feature: 1. Caden Carlin, 2. Kailey Boersma, 3. Phillip Root, 4. Ryan Vargas, 5. Dezel West, 6. Mason Sargent, 7. Gino Marretti, 8. Gianna Marretti, 9. Kyle Jacks, 10. Kyle Keller, 11. Brodey Warren, 12. Tye O’Hanley, 13. Kyle Gault.

20-lap Thunder Car feature: 1. Ian Anderson, 2. Jacob Tilton, 3. Nick D’Egidio, 4. Travis Boyle, 5. Chris Bosley, 6. Terry Thomson.

20-lap Legend Cars Semi-Pro/Young Lion feature: 1. Noah Gragson, 2. Chris Trickle, 3. Peyton Saxton, 4. Ricky Schlick, 5. Riley Herbst, 6. Michael Womack, 7. Buddy Sheppard, 8. Lacie Price, 9. Blaine Perkins, 10.Christian Warren, 11. Parker Malone, 12. Devin Lane, 13. Joe Culwell.

25-lap Legend Cars Pro/Master feature: 1. Jason Irwin, 2. J. Avila Jr., 3. Justin Irwin, 4. Darren Amidon, 5. Mark Borchetta, 6. Nick Thigpen, 7.Cale Kanke, 8. Bryan Grandin, 9. Michael Todd Glazier, 10. Jeffrey King, 11. Cheyanne Schindler, 12. Kyle Niquette, 13. Devin Mack, 14. Donna Gunther, 15. Zane Smith, 16. Chad Schug, 17. Brent Scheidemantle.