In recent years, the battle for the “Spears Srl Southwest Tour Series presented by Lucas Oil” Rookie-of-the-Year (ROTY), has been won by some of the best short track racers on the West Coast. Drivers including Jeremy Doss, Cole Moore and Jacob Gomes, have all gone on to score SPEARS Southwest Tour Series Titles. Other have nearly scored the championship, by finishing in the top-five. Those include such drivers as Ricky Schlick, Christian McGhee, Parker Stephens, Garret Archer, Ryan Foster, Bryan Herzog and Mark Smith. 2019 ROTY Tyler Fabozzi won the title over Jesse Love Jr., Jace Hansen, Eric Nascimento Jr.., and Don Zoll Jr., finishing fourth in the overall standings.

Fabozzi stated, “As a team I think we learned a lot and accomplished a lot of goals. I couldn’t be happier to get Rookie-of-the-Year as a driver.”

In 2020, another rookie class will aim to make their names known on the West Coast racing scene. Along with the prestige, the Rookie-of-the-Year will also receive a lucrative package of awards from several series sponsors. Among them are a 55 Gallon Drum of Fuel from Sunoco RacingFuel, a set of tires from Hoosier Tire West, a $1,500 Certificate from VDL Fuel Systems and a FLUIDYNE High Performance Cooling Module.

Thank you to those great sponsors, who help make the SPEARS Southwest Tour Series one of the most competitive series in the country!

Former Rookie-of-the-Year Winners:
2001: Tim Stratmeyer
2002: Rick Ruzbarsky
2003: Ryan Foster
2004; Mark Smith
2005: Jeremy Wood
2006: Kyle Gottula
2007: Bryan Herzog
2008: Josh Combs
2009: Kevin Callahan
2010: Jacob Gomes
2011: Michael Sandoval
2012; Jeff Oleen
2013: Jeremy Doss
2014: Garret Archer
2015: Parker Stephens
2016: Christian McGhee
2017: Ricky Schlick
2018: Cole Moore
2019: Tyler Fabozzi
2020: ????

Celebrating its twentieth season in 2020, the SPEARS Southwest Tour Series is a regional stock car series competing on paved ovals in the southwestern portion of the U.S. “The SPEARS Southwest Tour Series…Where the Champions Race”.