SPEARS Southwest Tour Series Closes 2013 Championship at The Bullring

SPEARS Southwest Tour Series Closes 2013 Championship at The Bullring



Bakersfield, CA — The 2013 SPEARS Southwest Tour Series championship finale will take place this Saturday at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway with the “CENTURY MOTORSPORTS and MARINE 125”.

CHAMPIONSHIP TITLE – By starting Saturday’s series finale in Las Vegas, Jim Pettit II will claim his record third SPEARS Southwest Tour Series title (2008 and 2011).  It will be car owner Quentin Bammer’s first series championship.  Pettit also won the NASCAR Southwest Series title in 2004 and 2005.


LAS VEGAS ROSTER – Twenty-eight drivers have submitted entries for the “CENTURY MOTORSPORTS and MARINE 125”, with Bob Lyon, Jonathan Mawhinney and Trevor Cristiani making their first SPEARS Southwest Tour Series starts of 2013.  Jay Beasley, Rob Kiemele, Cole Loftsgard, and Matt Meech will be making their first career SPEARS Southwest Tour Series start.


HOT OFF CHAMPIONSHIP SEASONS – Three drivers entered in Saturday’s SPEARS Southwest Tour Series finale are coming off respective championship seasons in 2013; Derek Thorn was recently crowned the 2013 NASCAR K&N West Series champion, Jay Beasley drove to the 2013 NASCAR Super Late Model championship at The Bullring and Trevor Cristiani scored the 2013 Rocky Mountain Challenge Series championship.


YOUNG GUNS – With one race remaining, only 16 points separate Jeremy Doss and Jacob Gomes in the battle for the “Flowmaster Young Guns Championship” for drivers age 23 and under.


ROOKIE TITLE – Upper Lake’s Jeremy Doss will be named the SPEARS Southwest Tour Series Rookie-of-the-Year for 2013.


FORMER BULLRING WINNERS – SPEARS Southwest Tour Series drivers entered this weekend who have won at The Bullring include; Jacob Gomes, Jonathon Gomez, Jim Pettit and Derek Thorn.  Gomez, Pettit and Thorn are also former series champions.


2013 WINNERS – Jeremy Doss (Stockton), Jim Pettit II (Las Vegas, Eureka, Kern County), Derek Thorn (Madera (2), Stockton, Salt Lake), and Greg Voigt (Pikes Peak International Raceway) have driven to victory in the first nine events of the 2013 SPEARS Southwest Tour Series.


SRL LEGENDS – Ricky Schlick will win the 2013 “SRL Legends Tour Series” championship at the finale.  The championship is decided by the driver’s best 8 finishes in the 11-race schedule.  Over 70 drivers competed in the SRL Legends Tour in 2013.


SRL S2 SERIES – Just 40 points separate Ryan Cansdale (1870) and Trevor Huddleston (1830) in the SRL S2 Tour Series championship.  The Bullring will host twin main events for the S2 Series on Saturday, which opens the door for Daryl Scoggins, Kenny Smith and Bill Waters to also have a mathematical shot at the 2013 SRL S2 Tour Series title.


EVENT INFORMATION – Saturday’s event at The Bullring is billed as the ‘2013 West Coast Short Track Championships’, featuring the championship finales for the SPEARS Southwest Tour Series, the Lucas Oil Modified Series, the SRL S2 Tour Series, the USAC Ignite Midget Series and the SRL Legends Tour.  Spectator Gates open at 2pm.  Racing at 5pm.