Bakersfield, CA – Heading into the “STRANDWOLD BROTHERS 125 presented by HURST Shifters” last Saturday at Stockton 99 Speedway, the big story was ‘double-file’ restarts for the SPEARS Southwest Tour Series.  Leaving Stockton 99 Speedway, the big story was the battle that waged on the track between Jim Pettit and Derek Thorn for the win. When the checkers dropped on lap 125, it was Thorn with his second win of the year, just .9 seconds ahead of Pettit, followed closely by Jacob Gomes, Ross Strmiska and Zane Lovelace.


For those who witnessed the race first hand from the grandstands of Stockton 99 Speedway, it was possibly the best short track race, many in attendance, had ever seen.  Not just the battle for the win, but throughout the field, as side-by-side duels were going on in every corner.  By the looks of the top five cars parked on the front straight-away after the race, the black donuts on the doors and fenders told the story of how hard the drivers fought for their positions throughout the race.


The 125-lap event on the tight ¼ mile oval took just over 40 minutes to complete, with four caution periods and four lead changes.  Greg Voigt led from the green flag up to lap 28, when Thorn moved by on the inside after starting sixth.  Pettit took over the lead on lap 93 following a side-by-side battle with Thorn, after the third double file restart of the race.  After another lengthy battle between Pettit and Thorn, Thorn wrestled the lead away for good with 15 laps to go, with an inside pass in turn 2, after the two cars rubbed entering turn 1.


At the checkers, nineteen cars were still on track, with twelve cars on the lead lap, led by Thorn, Pettit, Gomes, Strmiska and Lovelace who were followed by early leader Voigt, Jason Gilbert, hard charger award winner – M.K. Kanke, top placing rookie Jeremy Doss, with Bobby Hodges rounding out the top 10 of the 23 car field.


Next race for the SPEARS Southwest Tour Series will be May 11th at the 5th annual “GoLiveStream.TV – Blackjack 121” at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.




SRL Media

April 9, 2013